2 MARCH 2015


© 2022 Business Travel News Ltd.

Article from BTNews 2 MARCH 2015

Air Transport World Awards

Some 200 industry guests gathered at the Onmi Shoreham Hotel, Washington DC last Wednesday (25 February) for Air Transport World’s (ATW) annual 41st airline industry achievement awards.   Airline of the Year Southwest Airlines had a good showing inside and out as a peaceful protest from baggage handlers coincided with guest arrivals.
It was a good night for Star Alliance.
Heathrow, jointly with Star, scooped Airport of the Year for its new London home, the Queen’s Terminal.
Lufthansa took the accolade for Eco Airline of the Year.  Its unwavering commitment to the environment has helped it improve fuel efficiency by 36% since 1991.  In September a LH flight operated Frankfurt – Berlin Tegel using a 10% blend of new biofuel component Farnesan.
Star member Ethiopian Airlines, resident in T2,   took the title of Regional Airline of Year.  CEO Tewolde Gebremariam that whilst airlines are enjoying low oil prices, this is not so in Africa: “Twenty four of the 54 countries in Africa have not reduced their prices a single cent”.  It was a struggle he noted.
Air Astana of Kazakhstan was named Market Leader of the Year for its work developing a unique footprint in the essentially virgin territory that is Central Asia.  It has  been profitable every year since its launch 12 years ago.   www.staralliance.com


From left to right, Karen Walker, ATW Editor-in-Chief, Peter Foster, Air Astana President & CEO, Airline Market Leader of the Year;  John Pistole, TSA administrator (retired), Excellence in Leadership; Ben Baldanza, Spirit Airlines CEO, Value Airline of the Year; Alan Crawford, L-3 Link Simulation & Training UK Managing Director, Aviation Technology Achievement; Tewolde Gebremariam, Ethiopian Airlines CEO, Regional Airline of the Year; Mike Van de Ven, Southwest Airlines Exec. VP & COO, Airline of the Year; Natalie Hartman, Lufthansa Group’s Public Affairs Advisor/Consultant & Partner at the Hartman Group, Eco-Airline of the Year; Susanne Kotysch, Lufthansa Group Director-Corporate Responsibility  Eco-Airline of the Year; Andy Garner, London Heathrow Airport, Airline Business Development, Airport of the Year; Fiona Carleton, London Heathrow Airport, Head of Terminal Operations and Passenger Experience, Airport of the Year; Kevin Schemm, Boeing Commercial Airplanes, Senior VP Finance & Strategy, and CFO, Eco-Company of the Year; Mark Schwab, Star Alliance CEO, Airport of the Year; Beth Wagner, ATW Publisher.

Index/Home page

OUR READERS' FINEST WORDS (All times and dates are GMT)

All comments are filtered to exclude any excesses but the Editor does not have to agree with what is being said. 100 words maximum