18 MAY 2015


© 2022 Business Travel News Ltd.

Article from BTNews 18 MAY 2015

Department for Transport

Following the UK general election the Prime Minister has made some minor ministerial revisions in the Department for Transport.  

The Rt Hon Patrick McLoughlin (Derbyshire Dales) continues as Secretary of State with overall responsibility including transport security and high-speed rail.  Since his appointment in September 2012 he has established a rapport with the industry and now is the longest serving appointee since Alistair Darling.  There have been seven Secretaries of State since 2006.

Robert Goodwill (Scarborough and Whitby) remains as a Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State with responsibly for aviation, local roads, traffic, road safety, cycling and walking, London (not Crossrail), Europe, HS2 Phase 1 and is the Commons spokesman on ULEV (low emission vehicles) and environment issues.

Claire Perry (Devizes) becomes a Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State composing rail (including rail franchising, commercial, rail fares, major projects including Crossrail), freight and logistics, transport agencies, corporate and the regulatory process.

Andrew Jones (Harrogate and Knaresborough) is also appointed a Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State at the Department for Transport.

Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon is Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Transport and Home Office and Minister for Countering Extremism.


Index/Home page

OUR READERS' FINEST WORDS (All times and dates are GMT)

All comments are filtered to exclude any excesses but the Editor does not have to agree with what is being said. 100 words maximum