OCTOBER 22 ONWARD  COVID RULES - Up to date from Gov.uk

* items include readers letters

9 AUGUST 2021

YOUR WORDS


Readers are invited to add their comments to any story. Click on the article to see and add.

BTN DISTRIBUTION

BTN also goes out by email every Sunday night at midnight (UK time). To view this edition click here.

Index

Email this Page
Bookmark

The Business Travel News
PO Box 758
Edgware HA8 4QF
United Kingdom
+44 (0)20 8952 8383
info@btnews.co.uk
© 2021 Business Travel News Ltd.

Article from BTNews 9 AUGUST 2021

ON TOUR: Days out for kids

With children now on school holidays Business Travel News brings you some useful and most popular possibilities for FREE days out.

New research by Clarks analysed 5* TripAdvisor reviews to reveal the UK’s best destinations for kids – and to make life even easier they have categorised their findings into cultural, nature, historical and educational themed days out – so there's something for everyone in the family.  

They don’t go back until early September.  It’s a long few weeks!

Top 15 free cultural days out for kids

 https://www.clarks.co.uk/editorial/best-free-days-out

Town Name of Attraction Website
London National Gallery www.nationalgallery.org.uk
London Camden Market www.camdenmarket.com
Edinburgh Royal Mile https://edinburgh.org/neighbourhoods/the-royal-mile
London Covent Garden www.coventgarden.london
London Borough Market https://boroughmarket.org.uk
London Wallace Collection www.wallacecollection.org
Manchester The John Rylands Library www.library.manchester.ac.uk/rylands/visit
London National Portrait Gallery www.npg.org.uk
Edinburgh Scottish National Gallery www.nationalgalleries.org/visit/scottish-national-gallery
Glasgow Buchanan Street https://buchanangalleries.co.uk
London British Library www.bl.uk
London Tate Britain www.tate.org.uk/visit/tate-britain
Edinburgh Scottish National Portrait Gallery www.nationalgalleries.org/visit/scottish-national-portrait-gallery






Top 10 free nature days out for kids   
Town Name of Attraction Website
Bournemouth Bournemouth Beach www.bournemouth.co.uk/things-to-do/beaches
Edinburgh Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh www.rbge.org.uk
Edinburgh Princes Street Gardens www.edinburgh.gov.uk/directory-record/1208325/princes-street-gardens
Cardiff Cardiff Bay www.cardiffbay.co.uk
London Kensington Gardens www.royalparks.org.uk/parks/kensington-gardens
Lincoln Steep Hill www.visitlincoln.com/things-to-do/steep-hill
Swansea Gower Peninsula www.visitswanseabay.com/destinations/gower-peninsula
Bournemouth Hengistbury Head Beach www.visithengistburyhead.co.uk
Hastings Old Town Hastings www.visit1066country.com
Bournemouth Lower Gardens www.bournemouth.co.uk/things-to-do/bournemouth-lower-gardens-p2235263
     



Top 10 free historical days out for kids  
Town Name of Attraction Website
Edinburgh Edinburgh Old Town www.visitscotland.com/info/towns-villages/old-town-and-new-town-p918411
York Shambles www.shamblesyork.com
Liverpool Liverpool Cathedral www.liverpoolcathedral.org.uk
York York City Walls www.yorkwalls.org.uk
Chester Chester City Walls www.visitcheshire.com/things-to-do/chester-city-walls-p22241
Edinburgh St Giles' Cathedral https://stgilescathedral.org.uk
Chester Chester Cathedral https://chestercathedral.com
Norwich Norwich Cathedral www.cathedral.org.uk
Gloucester Gloucester Cathedral www.gloucestercathedral.org.uk
Worcester Worcester Cathedral www.worcestercathedral.co.uk
     
     
Top 10 free educational days out for kids  
Town Name of Attraction Website
London The British Museum www.britishmuseum.org
London Natural History Museum www.nhm.ac.uk
London Victoria and Albert Museum www.vam.ac.uk
Edinburgh National Museum of Scotland www.nms.ac.uk/national-museum-of-scotland
York National Railway Museum www.railwaymuseum.org.uk
Glasgow Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/kelvingrove-art-gallery-and-museum-p246571
London Imperial War Museum www.iwm.org.uk
Glasgow The Riverside Museum of Transport & Travel www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/riverside-museum-p995001
Cardiff St Fagans National Museum of History https://museum.wales/stfagans
Manchester Science and Industry Museum www.scienceandindustrymuseum.org.uk



Index/Home page
 

OUR READERS' FINEST WORDS (All times and dates are GMT)

All comments are filtered to exclude any excesses but the Editor does not have to agree with what is being said. 100 words maximum


Keith Freeman, Reading

For a site that has so much in it about aviation, I was very surprised not to see the RAF Museum listed...


Malcolm Family Smith, Surbiton

All I can say is “thank you BTN”.


Add your comment

First Name
Surname
Email Address
Company (Not obligatory)
Country/City
Comment
- You must be a registered subscriber using the email address entered to submit a comment, or you will be sent a confirmation email before your comment will appear.
- Your comment will be checked before appearing, which may take several working hours.
www.btnews.co.uk